Richard’s Comics and Collectables will be hosting Todd Livingston for a store signing on Saturday, February 8th. Todd will be at the shop from 2 pm – 5 pm to sign copies of his books including Starring Sonya Devereaux, currently on the shelves at Richard’s!

STL012903.jpg

Todd was gracious enough to take time from his busy schedule to answer a few questions for us. Here’s Todd!

What was your first published work?

“The Black Forest for Image Comics, co-written by Robert Tinnell with art by Neil Vokes. It won the Rondo Hatton Award for Best Horror Comic for that year.”

Do you have a certain routine you follow when you create?

“Is procrastination a routine? I tend to walk around a lot when I generate ideas. I’ll know the beginning and end of a story, but the pesky details in the middle vex me. Moving around helps me to brainstorm.”

What’s the first comic you remember reading?

“The Flash #208 in 1971. I have fond memories of seeing it on the wire turnstile rack at the 7-11 by my house. I was hooked. I just recently completed my collection of the DC Slurpee cups from 1973. It was a proud nerd moment.”

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies?

“I collect memorabilia from classic horror films from the 30’s-40’s, and 60’s-70’s. I’m a big Universal monster fan, as evidenced in The Black Forest and its sequel. My wife and I travel a lot, mostly to Europe and the Mediterranean region. We love Croatia! We got engaged in Croatia, actually.”

Do you have any advice you’d like to give someone reading this that
 might be interested in making comics?

“There’s good money in doctoring and lawyering and stockbrokering. My advice is to live. Try stuff you’ve never done. I read so many stories that are generic and derivative and I think it’s because the authors have a shallow well of life experience to draw from. Also, find a different way to tell a story. Find different ways to make a point. Comics are kind of nerd poetry that way, since you have to fit so much into just a few panels. Read daily strips. I learned so much about the economy of storytelling when I did my daily webcomic America Jr. I’m a much better writer because of that series.”

What’s a project that you’re particularly pleased with how it came out?

“Starring Sonya Devereaux. It’s completely liberating and the illustrators Brendon & Brian Fraim are just killing the storytelling, characterizations, and vibe. It’s exactly what I hoped it would be.”

Where can we find you online?

“I’m on Instagram and a rarely used Twitter at @toddlivingston, but there is exclusive and fun content from Sonya on Instagram at @starringsonyadevereaux and facebook.com/starringsonyadevereaux .”

479407-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

___________

Be sure to head to Richard’s this Saturday, February 18th and meet Todd!

Leave a Reply

