Local artist and writer Mitch Rogers will be at Richard’s Comics and Collectables for a book signing on Saturday, March 4th. Mitch will be at the shop from 2 pm – 5 pm to sign copies of his books including The Bogre: Southern Gothik #2, currently on the shelves at Richard’s!

mitch2

We asked Mitch a few questions, and he was kind enough to share his answers with us. Here’s Mitch!

What was your first published work?

“The Bogre #1, eight long years ago.

Do you have a certain routine you follow when you create?

“I usually just put on some music or a TV show on Netflix and just start working.”

What materials do you use when you work?

“When writing I just use the basic pen and notebook paper. With the art I prefer to use India ink with quill pens for linework, brushes for shadows, and technical pens when  necessary. I also utilize paints, watercolor, oil pastels, etc., when doing covers.”

What’s the first comic you remember reading?

“The Essential Calvin and Hobbes, that was my gateway drug.

What comics are you reading these days?

Harrow County is my current favorite. Bolts has been really good. I never miss an issue of Heavy Metal.”

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies?

“I usually read. My favorite writers are H. P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, Harlan Ellison, Hunter S. Thompson, and Jack Kerouac. Watch cartoons or movies (anything from art films to low budget B-movies).”

Do you have any advice you’d like to give someone reading this that might be interested in making comics?

“Basically, if you really want to do it, don’t give up. With the internet there are tons of ways to put your work out there without going bankrupt. And you never stop learning.”

What’s a project that you’re particularly pleased with how it came out?

My short story The Bogre: Into the Mist. That’s when I started doing less splatterpunk and more traditionally gothic storytelling, and began to take the concept more into true horror instead of just ‘blood and guts.’ Since then I feel that I’ve really grown as a writer.”

Are there any upcoming projects you’d like to plug?

“Well, I’m currently working of the mini-series The Bogre: Southern Gothik.”

 

Where can we find you online?

“At my Facebook page, via email at celticcrossstudios@gmail.com, and for those looking for some of my work it can be found at tapastic.com/celticcrossstudios.”

mitch.jpg

___________

Be sure to head to Richard’s this Saturday, March 4th and meet Mitch!

 

Leave a Reply

