Free Comic Book Day is Saturday, May 6. In addition to giving away thousands of free comics, this year we will again be hosting many fine artists and writers at Richard’s Comics & Collectables. Along the way we’ll be highlighting some of these guests by asking them a few questions about who they are and what they do. First up is Ryan Bray!

What was your first published work?

My first published book is an anthology called Too Much Michael. It is a book based off of an old web comic that I have since tried to delete from the internet. It features the works of several talented underground cartoonists.”

Do you have a certain routine you follow when you create?

“First I turn on my playlist and set it to shuffle, then I procrastinate, sometimes for days. When I do eventually get to creating, if anything distracts me, I get thrown off my routine and it might be days before I get back to it.”

What materials do you use when you work?

“Any old sketch book, a mechanical pencil and ink pens. Sometimes I’ll use Prismacolor markers, highlighters or crayons to color. If I really want to take my time I’ll use acrylic paints or water colors.”

What’s the first comic you remember reading?

I’ve had comics all my life, but I only looked at the pictures. One day my mom gave me the Death of Superman that she bought when she was working at a convenience store that had a comic rack in the corner. I read that book cover to cover.”

What comics are you reading these days?

“My favorite series out there right now is Scooby Doo Team-Up. I subscribe to it at Richard’s Comics. ”

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies?

“I like cooking, casual gaming, and binge watching entire series in less than a week.”

Do you have any advice you’d like to give someone reading this that might be interested in making comics?

“Creating comics will crush you, break your heart, and make you hate life, but if you can fight through all that and finish your comic, you will have a feeling of accomplishment like you’ve never had before.”

What’s a project that you’re particularly pleased with how it came out?

I’m pleased with my most recent comic, Octopus Inc. It stands out against all my past works in a good way.”

Are there any upcoming projects you’d like to plug?

“I always have a project in my head. Currently I’m working on giving Octopus Inc. a hard reboot.”

Where can we find you online?

“Currently I have no website. But I do have a Facebook page that I post all of my art and updates on under the name ShiggleBop Comix. You can also find me on Twitter, Patreon, Instagram and tumblr by searching @shigglebop.”

___________

Be sure to head to Richard’s for Free Comic Book Day on Saturday, May 6 and meet Ryan!

Leave a Reply

