Free Comic Book Day is Saturday, May 6. In addition to giving away thousands of free comics, this year we will again be hosting many fine artists and writers at Richard’s Comics & Collectables. Along the way we’ll be highlighting some of these guests by asking them a few questions about who they are and what they do. Here’s Eraklis Petmezas!

What was your first published work?

“It was a short comic – Mr. Lune: Good Morning Good Night.”

Do you have a certain routine you follow when you create?

“Most of my stories stem from a character I drew in my sketchbook and then I create a story and world around them.”

What materials do you use when you work?

“I’m mostly traditional. I use a brush and pens to ink with. I tend to do thumbnails small and then blow them up. Once I’ve done that I place them on my lightbox and go in with ink. I don’t tend to pencil too tightly, which of course may explain my style. ;-p  Any coloring and lettering I do using a Wacom tablet on my iMac.”

What’s the first comic you remember reading?

“Wow, not sure.  I would think an X-men comic.  I can tell you the first comic that really blew my mind would have been Cerebus or Elfquest.”

What comics are you reading these days?

“So many.  A good bit of the Image output along with many of the First Second titles. Fantagraphics, Nobrow and Self-made Hero continue to put out strong comics. It’s a great time to be reading comics as there is such a diversity of stories and materials put out by so many people and companies. A comic I’m really looking forward to is Matt Wagner finally finishing the Mage trilogy.”

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies?

“Well, most of my free time is devoted to art, but I try to add time to advocate for animals and enjoy hiking.”

Do you have any advice you’d like to give someone reading this that might be interested in making comics?

“Don’t get hung up on tools and ‘breaking in.’ Just create comics and work on creating your own voice. I’ve also learned more from fellow storytellers than I ever did in school.”

What’s a project that you’re particularly pleased with how it came out?

“Still proud of Last Cigarette about my retired police officer Kostas, but currently both of my print Inktober efforts.”

Are there any upcoming projects you’d like to plug?

“I’m putting together a collection of all my various short stories I’ve done for anthologies through the year into one book. I should be premiering at Heroescon.”

Where can we find you online?

“I post a lot of stuff on my Instagram account: epetmezas. I’m also on Twitter: @epetmezas and tumblr: epetmezas.tumblr.com.”

___________

Be sure to head to Richard’s for Free Comic Book Day on Saturday, May 6 and meet Eraklis!

Leave a Reply

